In the state of Minnesota, if your license has been revoked, you must file an Insurance Certification Form demonstrating you are carrying auto insurance that meets the state’s minimum requirements before your license may be reinstated.
What Is the Minnesota Insurance Certification Form?
The Insurance Certification Form is a document that an authorized representative of an insurance company completes and sends to the state of Minnesota’s Department of Public Safety: Driver and Vehicle Services Division. It is required before reinstatement of an operator’s revoked license.
An Insurance Certification Form is not an insurance policy but rather a certificate demonstrating you are complying with state laws regarding minimum auto insurance coverage. Other states may refer to a similar form as an SR-22.
Revocation of driving privileges may occur after a driver is convicted of committing a severe driving offense (e.g., operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol) or other serious motor vehicle-related transgression as outlined by applicable state law. Consult statutes, the Minnesota’s Driver’s Manual or a licensed attorney for details on which actions may result in a driver’s license revocation.
How Much Liability Insurance Is Required in Minnesota?
The Insurance Certification Form provides proof that you have enough auto liability coverage to meet the state’s minimum insurance requirements. Those requirements in Minnesota include:
· $30,000 bodily injury liability coverage for injuries to one person
· $60,000 bodily injury liability coverage for injuries to two or more people
· $10,000 property damage liability coverage
· $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage for injuries to one person
· $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage for injuries to two or more people
· $25,000 underinsured motorist coverage for injuries to one person
· $50,000 underinsured motorist coverage for injuries to two or more people
· $40,000 personal injury protection (PIP) per person per accident ($20,000 for hospital/medical expenses and $20,00 for non-medical expenses)
State minimums are subject to change. Work with your agent to help ensure appropriate coverage.
Your agent may also recommend that you carry more than the minimum amounts to help make sure you are adequately covered, as damages from accidents often exceed those limits. Additionally, government resources are available to provide more information about auto insurance.
How Much Does Filing an Insurance Certification Form Affect Insurance Premiums?
There is typically a relatively small fee associated with filing an Insurance Certification Form, but the underlying violation that resulted in the need to file one can raise your insurance premiums significantly. Practicing safe driving habits can help keep you and others safe on the road and help reduce your insurance costs.
Contact Us for More Information
Abbott Insurance Agency, LLC, can assist you in navigating auto insurance options. Contact your agent today to learn more.
This blog is intended for informational and educational use only. It is not exhaustive and should not be construed as legal advice. Please contact your insurance professional for further information.